Can't find the title you're looking for? Call 866-522-6657 or Send us a message | Get started and Request a Quote

Over 5 Million Titles Sold in Bulk

Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners Unlocked the Secrets of the Oceans

Paperback
$18.00 $9.36 $11.70

Your Order

Price each $11.70
Your subtotal for 25 $292.50

We are happy to assist you with orders of this size. Feel free to place your order online or Contact Us for further support. See Details

    You are away from this price.

    •  
    • Quantity
    • Price
    • Savings
    • Your Price
    • 1 – 24
    • See Details
    •  
    • Your Price
    • 25 – 99
    • $11.70
    • 35%
    • Your Price
    • 100 – 249
    • $11.16
    • 38%
    • Your Price
    • 250 – 499
    • $10.44
    • 42%
    • Your Price
    • 500 – 999
    • $9.72
    • 46%
    • Your Price
    • 1000+
    • $9.36
    • 48%

For quantities over 3000 please call our offices so we can assist you with a custom price quote.

Please Contact Us

You have not reached our minimum of 25

Please Contact Us

This product qualifies for FREE US ground shipping on orders over $100.

Allow 2-3 business days for processing on ground shipments

Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners Unlocked the Secrets of the Oceans
Overview
In Beyond the Blue Horizon, archaeologist and historian Brian Fagan tackles his richest topic yet: the enduring quest to master the oceans, the planet's most mysterious terrain. We know the tales of Columbus and Captain Cook, yet much earlier mariners made equally bold and world-changing voyages. From the moment when ancient Polynesians first dared to sail beyond the horizon, Fagan vividly explains how our mastery of the oceans changed the course of human history.

What drove humans to risk their lives on open water? How did early sailors unlock the secrets of winds, tides, and the stars they steered by? What were the earliest ocean crossings like? With compelling detail, Fagan reveals how seafaring evolved so that the forbidding realms of the sea gods were transformed from barriers into a nexus of commerce and cultural exchange. From bamboo rafts in the Java Sea to triremes in the Aegean, from Norse longboats to sealskin kayaks in Alaska, Fagan crafts a captivating narrative of humanity's urge to challenge the unknown and seek out distant shores. Beyond the Blue Horizon will enthrall readers who enjoyed Dava Sobel's Longitude, Simon Winchester's Atlantic, and Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel.

The book, Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners Unlocked the Secrets of the Oceans [Bulk, Wholesale, Quantity] ISBN# 9781608194032 in Paperback by Fagan, Brian may be ordered in bulk quantities. Minimum starts at 25 copies. Availability based on publisher status and quantity being ordered.
Product Details
7/16/2013
Paperback, Unabridged
Bloomsbury Publishing
History & Geography
313
9781608194032
1608194035
0.6" H x 8.24" L x 5.5" W
0.9600
BookPal

Email This Product to a Friend

Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners Unlocked the Secrets of the Oceans

Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners Unlocked the Secrets of the Oceans

Paperback
Brian Fagan
Bloomsbury Publishing