Share this Product
A Stone of Hope: A Memoir

Paperback

As low as $9.75

To Send this product to multiple people, please enter the email addresses separated by a comma ",":

A Stone of Hope: A Memoir

ISBN 9780062458803
List Price $15.99 Priced from $7.84 - $9.75
$15.99
In stock
SKU
9780062458803
In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause—until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.
Paperback
This product qualifies for FREE US Ground Shipping on orders over $100.
  • Price each $9.75
  • Subtotal $243.75
In the tradition of <i>The Other Wes Moore</i> and <i>Just Mercy</i>, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause—until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.
Overview
In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause—until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.

Born into abject poverty in Haiti, young Jim St. Germain moved to Brooklyn’s Crown Heights, into an overcrowded apartment with his family. He quickly adapted to street life and began stealing, dealing drugs, and growing increasingly indifferent to despair and violence. By the time he was arrested for dealing crack cocaine, he had been handcuffed more than a dozen times. At the age of fifteen the walls of the system were closing around him.

But instead of prison, St. Germain was placed in Boys Town, a nonsecure detention facility designed for rehabilitation. Surrounded by mentors and positive male authority who enforced a system based on structure and privileges rather than intimidation and punishment, St. Germain slowly found his way, eventually getting his GED and graduating from college. Then he made the bravest decision of his life: to live, as an adult, in the projects where he had lost himself, and to work to reform the way the criminal justice system treats at-risk youth.

A Stone of Hope is more than an incredible coming-of-age story; told with a degree of candor that requires the deepest courage, it is also a rallying cry. No one is who they are going to be—or capable of being—at sixteen. St. Germain is living proof of this. He contends that we must work to build a world in which we do not give up on a swath of the next generation.

Passionate, eloquent, and timely, illustrated with photographs throughout, A Stone of Hope is an inspiring challenge for every American, and is certain to spark debate nationwide.

The book, A Stone of Hope: A Memoir [Bulk, Wholesale, Quantity] ISBN# 9780062458803 in Paperback by Jim St. Germain;Jon Sternfeld may be ordered in bulk quantities. Minimum starts at 25 copies. Availability based on publisher status and quantity being ordered.
Product Detail
More Information
Price 15.99
Shipping Weight 0.500000
ISBN-13 9780062458803
Product Dimensions 0.9 H x 8.0 L x 5.3 W
Pages 320
Format Paperback
Publication Date Jul 23, 2018
Language English
Price Match
A Stone of Hope: A Memoir

Paperback

As low as $9.75

We pride ourselves on delivering quality experiences, but we recognize that value is a factor when making a purchase. If you find a retailer that has a better advertised price than our website, let us know and we will do our best to match it. Visit our Terms and Conditions to see our full price match policy.

Fill out the form below and we will contact you within 1 business day.