Share this Product

To Send this product to multiple people, please enter the email addresses separated by a comma ",":

Sing a Rhythm, Dance a Blues: Education for the Liberation of Black and Brown Girls

ISBN 9781620973998
List Price $23.99 Priced from $16.31 - $17.27
$23.99
In stock
SKU
9781620973998
A groundbreaking and visionary call to action on educating and supporting girls of color, from the highly acclaimed author of Pushout.
Hardcover
This product qualifies for FREE US Ground Shipping on orders over $100.
  • Price each $17.27
  • Subtotal $431.75
A groundbreaking and visionary call to action on educating and supporting girls of color, from the highly acclaimed author of Pushout.
Overview
A groundbreaking and visionary call to action on educating and supporting girls of color, from the highly acclaimed author of Pushout.

Wise Black women have known for centuries that the blues have been a platform for truth-telling, an underground musical railroad to survival, and an essential form of resistance, healing, and learning. In her highly anticipated follow-up to the widely acclaimed Pushout on the criminalization of black girls in schools, Monique W. Morris invokes the spirit of the blues to articulate a radically healing and empowering pedagogy for Black and Brown girls.

A passionate manifesto that builds naturally on her previous book, Sing a Rhythm, Dance a Blues reimagines what education might look like if schools placed the flourishing of Black and Brown girls at their center. Grounding each chapter in interviews, case studies, and testimonies of educators who work successfully with girls of color, Morris blends research with real life to offer a radiant manifesto on moving away from punishment, trauma, and discrimination toward safety, justice, and genuine community in our schools.

In the tradition of For White Folks Who Teach in the Hood and Other People’s Children, Morris’s new book is a clarion call—for educators, parents, students, and anyone who has a stake in a better tomorrow—to transform schools into places where learning and collective healing can flourish.

The book, Sing a Rhythm, Dance a Blues: Education for the Liberation of Black and Brown Girls [Bulk, Wholesale, Quantity] ISBN# 9781620973998 in Hardcover by Monique W. Morris may be ordered in bulk quantities. Minimum starts at 25 copies. Availability based on publisher status and quantity being ordered.
Product Detail
More Information
Price 23.99
Shipping Weight 0.800000
ISBN-13 9781620973998
Product Dimensions 1.0 H x 8.7 L x 5.5 W
Pages 192
Format Hardcover
Publication Date Aug 26, 2019
Language English
Price Match

We pride ourselves on delivering quality experiences, but we recognize that value is a factor when making a purchase. If you find a retailer that has a better advertised price than our website, let us know and we will do our best to match it. Visit our Terms and Conditions to see our full price match policy.

Fill out the form below and we will contact you within 1 business day.